My First Stitch Fix Review

Standard

Have you heard about Stitch Fix?

I first learned about the company two years ago when they were brand-new, but didn’t try their service for the first time until this summer. Basically, Stitch Fix is an online styling service. You fill out an extensive style profile online (sizes, body type, preferred price point, etc.) and a stylist uses that information to put together a personalized box of five clothing and accessory items that ships right to your front door. You pay a $20 flat styling fee each time you have a Fix shipped to you, but that fee is deducted from whatever you decide to keep from the box. When you receive a Fix, you have about three business days to try everything on and decide what you want to keep. If you keep everything in a Fix, you get 25% off the whole box! Whatever you don’t keep you simply slip into a prepaid shipping bag and send back. You can schedule automatic Fixes (as frequently as every two weeks, or as infrequently as a few times a year), or you can just request one whenever you want to. There are no other fees.

The clothing and accessories vary widely in style and price, according to your personal tastes. No two Fixes are identical. They even offer petites and maternity (but no plus sizes yet). You can create a Pinterest board to help your stylist get to know your preferences, and you can leave them notes about what you want, as well as feedback on each Fix you receive. One thing I love about Stitch Fix is the convenience. I like being able to try things on at home and take my time deciding what to keep. Another thing I love is how personal it is. They really take into account your body type, fit preferences, even favorite colors and fabrics. If you are looking for pants for work or a dress for a special event, you can write a note to your stylist and they’ll take it into account. A few of my Stitch Fix friends don’t really like to shop, or don’t have the time, so they love having a stylist choose things for them. I enjoy shopping when I have time and our family as a set monthly clothing budget so I probably won’t get Fixes more than a few times a year, but it’s a fun way to mix things up and a great opportunity to try styles you might not otherwise choose in the store.

Honestly, my first Fix wasn’t great (I didn’t keep anything), but I wasn’t very specific about what I wanted and that seems to be a key to a great Stitch Fix experience. My second Fix, that I’m sharing here, was more on-target. I can tell that Olivia, my stylist this time, really paid attention to my notes and tried to choose items that I’d love. Here’s what she sent:

StitchFix1StitchFix2

Everything comes beautifully wrapped and these style cards are included to give you outfit ideas, as well as a personal note from your stylist. I had asked for a pair of shorts, some tops that would be comfortable in the Florida heat, and a summery maxi dress. I didn’t request any accessories this time. Olivia definitely paid attention to my requests and picked up on my obsession with navy, as well as trying to accommodate my love for natural fibers.

Kut from the Kloth Jayme Shorts

Kut from the Kloth Jayme Shorts

These shorts are perfect! They are well-made with just the right amount of stretch, a mid rise, and are a great length for me. I knew right away that I’d be keeping them.

Lavender Brown Silk Tie Neck Blouse

Lavender Brown Silk Tie Neck Blouse

I loved the colors and print in this top, but it was a little short and boxy on me, and it was also 100% silk, which doesn’t exactly suit a work-from-home mom of young kids (not to mention the $98 price tag). I returned this one.

Skies are Blue Cheyne V Neck Top

Skies are Blue Cheyne V Neck Top

This top was cotton, which I loved, but it was both too wide and too short on me. Fit is really important to me, so I sent this one back as well.

Loveappella Tarzana Maxi Dress

Loveappella Tarzana Maxi Dress

I wanted to love this dress. The blues, the stripes, the ombré—it’s a beautiful dress. It just didn’t look beautiful on me. So, back it went.

Olive & Oak Pratt Maxi Dress

Olive & Oak Pratt Maxi Dress

This dress is similar to a shorter navy and white striped one I have, so I knew right away I probably wouldn’t keep it. The fabric was thick, which I liked, but the top was really big and the straps kept sliding off my shoulders. So I returned this one, too.


I ended up only keeping the shorts and sending everything else back to Stitch Fix, but I still consider it a successful Fix because I kept something I really needed that fit well and I didn’t blow my budget.

If you want to try Stitch Fix, please use this link to sign up and I will receive credit when your first Fix ships, then share your experience with your friends so you can get credit too! If you do try it, be sure to let me know what you think!

Leave a comment